Leonora Fimbres awarded K-12 Foundation Golden Apple

The K-12 Foundation for LHUSD#1 presented the Sherry Dailey Golden Apple Award for September to Leonora Fimbres, Kindergarten teacher at Oro Grande Elementary School. John Dailey, Sherry's husband and a retired principal and educator, presented the plaque to Mrs. Fimbres, the first recipient since the award was re-named in honor of his wife. Sherry Dailey exemplified all that this award stands for.

The Golden Apple Award was created by K-12 community partners: David’s Hair Productions, Shugrue’s Family of Restaurants, and Havasu Fitness. David DePeal, Thom Felke, and Jack and Dale Bailey wanted to recognize and reward the dedication that educators in our community have shown their students and brought their idea to the K-12 Foundation. They were joined in this effort by Gail Baumkirchner, owner of The Human Bean. Schlotsky’s has now joined as a sponsor. This is the third year that the Golden Apple Award award has been presented. The award recognizes, at each school, a person who is outstanding in his or her area of education expertise and who exhibits selfless dedication to the highest ideals of providing the best possible educational environment for their students. On more than one occasion, our community partners have expressed their gratitude for the educators who have touched the lives of their own children in Lake Havasu City. The recipient receives a plaque from the K-12 Foundation as well as gift certificates from each of our community sponsors.

Pictured are: 

  • Front) Leonora Fimbres, award recipient.
  • (Middle, l. to rt.) Dani Marino, Shugrue's Family of Restaurants; Andy Campbell, K-12 Foundation Board President; Judy Roe, K-12 Foundation Board Member; Shawna Karns, Havasu Fitness; and Penny Burtless, K-12 Foundation Board Past President.
  • (Back, l. to rt.) John Dailey; John Johnston, K-12 Foundation Board member; Anne Lane, The Human Bean; David DePeal, Hair Productions; Amy Sugamele, K-12 Foundation Board member; Brook Jackson, Schlotsky's; and Pat Wolfe, Oro Grande principal.

Leonora Fimbres wins Golden Apple.

Lois Miller wins May, 2013 award.
Karen Kyle wins April, 2013 award.
Jane Jorgensen wins March, 2013 award.
Julie Johnson wins February, 2013 award. »
Trude Jackson wins January, 2013 award. »
Wade Novy wins December, 2012 award. »
Nancy Blythe wins October, 2012 award. »
Sue Bridwell wins September, 2012 award. »
Christina Musselman wins May award. »
Margee Chieffo wins April award. »
Mary Ann Thompson wins March award. »
Lori Kuemerle wins February award. »
Norma Zink wins January award. »