K-12 Foundation gives $3,000 to each school

Members of the K-12 Foundation for LHUSD #1 came to the governing board meeting on 5/14/13 and presented a check for $3,000 to each school in our district. Foundation president Penny Burtless said this was the seventh consecutive year that the Foundation was able to make the check presentations.  She said, "This is a gift from a community that cares deeply about education." She went on to thank the local businesses, organizations, and individuals that support the K-12 Foundation in its fund-raising efforts. The K-12 Foundation sponsors the annual Taste of Havasu event, Honey Baked Ham sales, and other fund raisers as well as hosting recognition events like the annual Academic Recognition Banquet which honors outstanding Lake Havasu High School seniors and their favorite teachers.

You can help the K-12 Foundation in its mission to support the students, staff, and schools of Lake Havasu Unified. Check their website for information on becoming a member (only costs $25 a year for a family membership), donating, or volunteering.

Foundation members and school principals posed for the picture below. Foundation members—in the red shirts—are (left to right): Penny Burtless, Gail Baumkirchner, Hal Christiansen, Cinda Ross, Jamie Hammer, Margie Theophilus, John Johnston, and Terry Trinko. Seated in front of them (also left to right) are school principals Mike Murray (Starline), Connie Hogard (Smoketree), Pat Wolfe (Oro Grande), Tami Roth (Nautilus), Paula Levinsailor (Jamaica), Claude Sanders (Havasupai), Mary Jo Mulligan (Thunderbolt), and Denise Miner (Lake Havasu High School).

K-12 Foundation members present checks to school principals.

K-12 Foundation website.